Cookies!

Of all the things in life that I can do, baking cookies is not one of them.  I try and I try and I try, but … nothing.  I always fail somehow.1 However, for some reason I had promised to bake cookies for one of the attorneys at work for doing me a favor. I’m not sure why I thought of that; if anything, I should have just bought some cookies for her. But, since I promised to bake, bake I would.

I wanted to make pumpkin-oatmeal cookies but the grocery store was unfortunately out of canned pumpkin.  So I made peanut-butter-oatmeal cookies instead.  The recipe didn’t work out exactly, but I’m assuming that’s because I don’t exactly like to measure.  They were tasty nonetheless.

The real inspiration came when I remembered a discussion the boyfriend and I had the other day about how good spicy peanut butter would be.  So I threw in some cayenne and made a few spicy peanut butter ones for the boyfriend.  I’m not sure about the amount of cayenne.  The first pinch didn’t taste spicy enough, but the second might have been overdoing it.  Boyfriend allegedly liked them, though, so that’s all that matters.

 1 My favorite was this summer when I made a batch of cookies that crumbled completely upon removal from the oven. I was baffled; my roommate came home and took one look at them and said, “Honey, did you mix up the baking powder and baking soda?” NO … um … or … yes …

Leave a Reply

