Restaurant review: Kyoto.

Because you all care so much what I think of restaurants.

Anyway.  I care what I think and since my blog is really just an exercise is self-indulgence, I’m going to tell you what I think.

I went to Kyoto tonight with a friend.  I needed a drink but they only had beer & wine (despite the metromix page saying they had a full bar).  No worries because I wanted wine but they only had three choices by the glass: house red, house white, or sushi white.  I got the sushi white and it was all right.  “All right” was pretty much the adjective for the meal.  We had edamame that was relatively squishy and a little too salty.  I had a really tasty veggie roll (originally avocado, cucumber, mushroom, and spinach, but carrots were substituted for spinach in the wake of the spinach e. coli thing — to my delight because I <3 carrots) and a ume shisokyu roll (plum paste, Japanese mint, and cucmber).  I’d never had a ume shiskoyu roll, so I decided to try it, but I wasn’t much of a fan.  The flavors didn’t seem to mesh well, and the roll fell apart quite readily.  I almost got the bunny roll, which had marinated carrot in it, and I probably should have.

All in all, it was tasty and better than not having sushi at all, but I still much prefer Chen’s.  Oh well.  At least I tried something new.

Leave a Reply

