quiet weekend

It was a pretty quiet weekend around here in Brooklyn.

On Friday, we had dinner at Madiba, this African restaurant not far from where we live. It had been drizzling on and off all day, but, of course, the sky opened up and started pouring the moment we stepped outside. We only had one umbrella between the two of us, so we were each half soaking wet by the time we reached the restaurant. The restaurant was packed (as it usually is), so we had time to dry out with a drink in the bar before we were seated. The restaurant was really neat visually, and the food was tasty, so I gave them a five star review on Yelp. I would definitely recommend it if you are in our neck of the woods.

On Saturday, the sky cleared up around noon and the sun was shining, making it the perfect day to visit the farmers’ market. It had positively exploded with vendors, although most of the new vendors seemed to be purveyors of jewelry and pottery instead of vegetables. I got some apples (as I do every weekend) and some raw local honey, which is supposed to help with my mysterious new allergies. I got some more errands done before the sky clouded over again. We stayed in that evening and watched Up in the Air, which, if you haven’t seen yet, I recommend. We also had a popcorn explosion, which I found incredibly amusing and instantly photographed with my cell phone. I have posted it here for your amusement as well. :)

On Sunday, we took a journey to Brooklyn Chinatown. The sidewalks weren’t crowded with tourists like in downtown Chinatown; instead, they were crowded with a seemingly infinite number of strollers. Because I need a weekly fix of banh mi, we tried out a new Vietnamese sandwich place, Ba Xuyen, where we got not only delicious sandwiches but Vietnamese coffees, which are always a little slice of heaven. We also did some grocery shopping, stocking up on soy sauce, soba noodles, and chili garlic sauce, the latter of which I practically eat with a spoon for dinner on nights Marc has to work late. (It’s not my most attractive habit.)

All in all, a pretty lazy but lovely weekend.

Leave a Reply

