reviving my crush on The X-Files

It was a gloomy and rainy1 night last night, and Marc was out at a summer function with work.2 It seemed like the perfect night to watch something scary – or at least a little spooky – but I couldn’t decide what that should be.

Then I remembered that my awesome brother recently told me the entirety of the The X-Files (all nine seasons of it!) are available to watch instantly on Netflix. I ♥ The X-Files. I was a huge fan of it when it was on the air, and I have a box at my parents’ house stuffed with all sorts of junk related to it – magazines, comic books, trading cards. I just couldn’t get enough.

I stopped watching somewhere around the fourth or fifth season because the show got too caught up in its own mythology. I was less interested in the government conspiracy plot than I was in the monster-of-the-week storylines.3 Now I wonder if that part might have been a little over my head as a teenager. I suspect I would enjoy it more now – and I think I might start watching the later episodes to find out.

In any event, the first season contains some of my all-time favorite episodes: (spoiler alert: the following links reveal plot details) Squeeze, Ice, and Tooms. (Of course, Tooms is the reason I was always slightly leery of escalators – at least, it was until law school, when I had to read Rickey v. Chicago Transit Authority, 98 Ill. 2d 546, 457 N.E.2d 1 (1983) and became distrustful of elevators for another reason entirely.)

I watched Squeeze last night, and I’m looking forward to working my way through the rest of the series.


1 “Gloomy and rainy” is the less threatening kid sister of “dark and stormy.”
2 They went to see (note: the following link has sound) American Idiot! I am so jealous!
3 Interestingly, I feel the exact opposite way about Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I prefer the later episodes, which focus on larger character-driven arcs, to the earlier episodes, which were monster-of-the-week based.
3 responses to “reviving my crush on The X-Files

  1. I have never seen the X Files, but I am quite the fan of David Duchovny so expect I’d quite enjoy it – maybe I should give it a whirl sometime.

  2. I would definitely give it a try – his dry delivery is spot-on, and, if you can get past the 90s suits, he’s pretty adorable!

  3. Pingback: Friday links « perky to a fault

Leave a Reply

