one hundred hours in NYC: part 1

My mom recently came to NYC for the first time. She arrived on Friday afternoon and left first thing on Wednesday morning; all told, she had just over one hundred hours in this fine city. We covered the city to the best of our ability – this is part 1 of our adventure.

Mom arrived at LaGuardia on Friday afternoon, and I met her at the airport. Airport arrivals are much more fun when you have someone waiting for you at baggage claim!

After dropping off her stuff at my apartment, we immediately headed to Bryant Park. I was hoping – although doubting – that we would be able to sit down and have a drink on the Southwest Porch. We obviously weren’t the only ones with that idea, and we couldn’t get a table. Instead, I walked her through and around Bryant Park and inside the main library. If you haven’t been inside there, go! It’s beautiful. I considered hitting Times Square since we were so close, but it’s not as insane-looking during the daylight hours, so I decided to wait until nightfall.

We took the B down to Broadway/Lafayette and strolled up Broadway. We stopped into West 3rd Common for cheap appletinis and a cheese plate. After that, we headed back down Broadway for some shopping. We hit up Sephora and Zara, where Mom picked out a cute dress for me. (Thanks, Mom!)


I teach Mom how to mirror-photo.

Then I walked Mom through the Village and past our old apartment on Bleecker. After getting only slightly lost in the West Village, we eventually found and had dinner at Tartine. Although there was a line, since we were only a party of two, we didn’t have to wait long for a table. I had the tuan nicoise salad that was on special that night, Mom had the sauteed chicken, and we split a bottle of sauvignon blanc. It was a lovely dinner.

We capped the night off with a visit to Times Square. Times Square at eleven o’clock on a Friday night is infinitely more exciting than at four-thirty in the afternoon, and so I’m glad that we waited to see it. I think Mom was properly impressed. I love Times Square like I love Vegas: I’m a little embarrassed about it, but I can’t get enough of the bright lights.

Stay tuned for more!

Leave a Reply

