all signs point to a new haircut

As I mentioned back in March, I bought a hair package from one of those can I ask you a question about your hair? guys. I don’t have a hairstylist in New York that I feel an allegiance to, so I thought it might be kind of fun to try someone new. I didn’t need a haircut right then, but I had four months to use the package.

Before I knew it, it was almost four months later, and I need to cash in on that haircut or lose it. The July issue of Vogue has been sitting on my coffee table for a while, and Marion Cotillard had been staring at me from the front cover with her glamorous short hair.

I made the call to schedule the appointment for the next day, intending to have my hair cut like hers. I was a little nervous; my hair was past my shoulders and the hair in the picture is to the chin. It seemed like a drastic change – what if it looked terrible on me? I know that it’s hair, and that hair grows back, but no one likes to look terrible.

I told myself that I still had time (until the scissors started snipping) to back out, but then came the incontrovertible signs.

First, shortly after I made the appointment, I was checking my Google Reader and saw that there was a new post on one of my favorite websites, Go Fug Yourself. The post was titled Well Played, Marion Cotillard.

Second, I was at the gym later that afternoon and caught sight of my ponytail bouncing around in the mirror while I was on the elliptical. I began to question my decision to cut my hair, and suddenly the iPhone commercial featuring the girl who gets a short haircut came on the television I was watching.

Third (and finally), when I entered the salon, my stylist was reading the very same Vogue article on Marion Cotillard that had inspired my decision.

I’m not a terribly superstitious person, but the signs were undeniable. I got the haircut.

And I love it! Better pictures forthcoming, I promise.

5 responses to “all signs point to a new haircut

  1. Looks great!

  2. bring back the black!

  3. Thanks, friend!

    And, Dave, there’s no need to remind everyone of the Black Phase, hahaha! :-P

  4. The cut is perfect on you – It looks so great!!

    That’s a great issue – it’s on the top of my coffee table – has been since it came out. And now, when I look at it, I’ll think – wow, Katie’s ‘do looks fabulous on Marion. ;)

Leave a Reply

