done!

It may have taken me six years to get through the first fifty pages, but I finally, finally completed Anna Karenina. I think this calls for a celebration.

Not only did I finish the book, but I actually enjoyed it. There were a few farming and hunting1 scenes that went on longer than seemingly necessary, but I kind of glossed over those, making sure that no one was mortally wounded and that I didn’t miss any major revelations. At it’s heart, Anna Karenina is two distinct love stories: one a marriage, one a forbidden love. I was surprised by how much I enjoyed the book, and, if you have some time to kill, I would recommend Anna Karenina as your weapon of choice.

Bonus:
Anna Karenina if she wore Chanel and Balenciaga [Textbook]


1 Incidentally, I was awfully confused when Levin was hunting snipes because I was under the impression that, if you wanted to lose someone in the woods, you told them that you were taking them out to hunt snipes. Wikipedia confirms that a “snipe hunt” is “a type of practical joke that involves experienced people making fun of credulous newcomers by giving them an impossible or imaginary task,” but it also tells me that a snipe is part of “a family of shorebirds.”
Leave a Reply

