I’m music illiterate

As mentioned, I’ve not been feeling well, so there has been a tremendous amount of sleep on my schedule. By Thursday evening, after pretty much sleeping 75% of the past 48 hours, I was feeling up to leaving the apartment. Marc’s younger sister, who is into music, is visiting us, and there was show that she wanted to see on Thursday evening. I traded my housedress for skinny jeans and eyeliner, and off the three of us went to the Bowery Ballroom on the Lower East Side.

We arrived ahead of the crowd, which worked out well for all involved: Marc’s sister got a great spot near the stage, and Marc and I, because we are old fogies, were able to secure a table on the mezzanine.

There were three bands playing that night: Yawn, Girl in a Coma, and Steel Train. Steel Train was the main act, and they were the band that we had come to see. I had never heard of them, but that might just be because I am completely and tragically unhip when it comes to music.1

The first band, Yawn, wasn’t really my thing. It had some music that seemed okay,2 but then it kind of devolved into a lot of loud noise. The second band, Girl in a Coma, I really liked. I think I would have liked their music more if played a volume other than “ear-splitting,” but that might just be me being an old fogie again. The third and final band, Steel Train, was definitely worth the $15 ticket price. I lack the ability to describe music, so I’ll only say two things: I didn’t want the show to end, and I bought their album on iTunes. I’m going to let those things speak for themselves.

video posted on YouTube from the show

Read More:
CD Review: Steel Train [New Jersey Star Ledger]
After Nearly a Decade, Steel Train Hits Its Stride [New Jersey Star Ledger]
Music Review: Steel Train [The Daily Rubbish]


1 It’s okay; I can admit it. My iPod is still dominated by Fall Out Boy, My Chemical Romance, and Sugarcult. I’m completely clueless when it comes to music.
2 No, seriously, I am so clueless about music that I don’t even know what words are appropriate to describe music. “It was okay.” Sigh. My thesaurus can’t even help me here.
Leave a Reply

