Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings Celebrate Brooklyn

As previously mentioned, I’m woefully uninformed when it comes to music. Accordingly, when a friend proposed we go see Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings on Saturday night, I thought Sharon who and the what-who? but agreed to go anyway.

IMG_8970 by ChrisGoldNY
image credit: ChrisGoldNY on Flickr

I am so glad that I did; we had such a good time! The concert was the last of the Celebrate Brooklyn! 2010 season, and it was held in the Prospect Park Bandshell. At one point, the organizers said that there were 20,000 people there. We were lucky to get seats – although there was no sitting during the main event! Everyone in the audience – young and old – was dancing. There was so much energy! Sharon Jones looks as though she has been onstage her whole life, but my friend told me that she used to be a prison guard. She’s certainly found her calling!

Read More:
☆ My cell phone camera only took shots that made the whole bandshell look like one big glowy mass, and I had trouble finding free images to post. I encourage you to check out Andrew St. Clair’s pictures on Flickr. He got some good ones!
☆ Alternatively (or additionally), you can see a bunch of photos from the concert on Metromix
☆ I enjoyed

Leave a Reply

