Grover Washington?

I was sorting through some random papers I’d stuffed in a file folder, and I came across a crossword puzzle I ripped out of an airline magazine a few months ago. The puzzle’s theme was “Two for One” and all the themed answers had double vowels. 64 across was one of the themed answers, and the clue was “President digging a jazz band?”

In case you can’t read it, the answer the puzzle makers was looking for was “Groover Washington.” Grover Washington? I think they mean Grover Cleveland. That wrong answer frustrated me so much when working on that puzzle!

Leave a Reply

