Do This: Chicago Edition

I spent last weekend in Chicago, which is my favorite city in the world. I was in Chicago for one of my closest friend’s bachelorette parties on Saturday night, and, because my birthday was on Sunday, I stayed through Monday. (I don’t travel on my birthday. Two years in a row of land border crossings on my birthday led me to establish this rule.) My parents came up on the train to celebrate my golden birthday with me.


with some of my besties at the bachelorette party

I did some of my favorite things over the weekend, so I present the Do This: Chicago Edition.

Drinks on the Chicago River: I arrived on Friday afternoon and had drinks at Flatwater with one of my oldest friends. There’s something undeniably wonderful about drinks on the water, and this was no exception.

Brunch at Orange: The morning after the bachelorette party, some of us girls brunched at Orange before reluctantly scattering. When I lived on Roscoe Street way back in 2005, I used to eat at the Orange on North Clark with some regularity. Four moves later, I’m living in Brooklyn and eating there has gotten increasingly inconvenient. (Compounding the problem, the internet tells me that location has closed.) We met at the location on Clark near Chicago, and, even though we were a large group, we were seated immediately. (It probably didn’t hurt that we arrived at 10:30!) Orange makes the best coffee – it has orange zest in it, and it tastes so good. Orange is famous for their frushi and pancake flights, but I’m more of a savory breakfast girl, so I got an omelet.

Dinner at Le Colonial: My parents came up to Chicago for my aforementioned birthday, and we had my birthday dinner at one of my favorite restaurants, Le Colonial. I love the atmosphere there, and I would happily eat Vietnamese food for every meal for the rest of my life. Mom stopped by earlier in the day and told the staff it was my birthday, so they seated us at a perfect table by the front windows, and they brought out a delicious macaroon with ice cream and a candle. It was so nice!


birthday dessert with Mom & Dad

Architectural Boat Tour: The Chicago Architecture Foundation’s boat tour is a new favorite of mine. It’s something I’ve always wanted to do, and we had a sunny afternoon on Monday, so we bought tickets for the tour. It’s a ninety minute ride along the Chicago River with a guide who points out which architectural firms designed which buildings and discusses the influences and contexts of each. It’s even more interesting than I imagined it would be, and I highly recommend it if you’re in Chicago.

Tea at Russian Tea Time: My mom and I often have tea, and one of our most frequented tea spots is Russian Tea Time. They serve a house tea that delicious and comes in a fun Russian mug. We rarely get the full tea service there, opting instead to get scones a la carte. On Monday, my parents and I had tea and a snack there before it was time for me to collect my suitcase and get on the blue line back to O’Hare.

Until next time, Chicago!

3 responses to “Do This: Chicago Edition

  1. Looks like you had a blast, and I fully approve of your list of activities–it’s exactly what I would have done had I been there! But how did you live in Chicago for 4 years and never do the boat tour?? =)

  2. Chicago misses you !

Leave a Reply

