Vampire Diaries excitement

I have to admit, I’m embarrassingly excited about The Vampire Diaries coming back tonight.

I didn’t start watching the show when it premiered last fall because (a) I didn’t really need to start watching another television show, particularly another CW television show1 and (b) television shows based on young adult books that I read and loved can be disappointing.2

In the early 1990’s, I read and loved L.J. Smith’s Vampire Diaries trilogy. (This is how dated I am – I read it when it was still a trilogy. I didn’t even know that there had been additional books until I just Googled it this afternoon.) I was sure that the television series would take liberties that besmirched my memories of the books, but, as it turns out, I don’t really remember the books all that well, so it’s not an issue.

I caught up on the series over the summer, and I cannot wait for the season premiere tonight. Part of me is glad that I didn’t see this show when it first aired because I’m not sure I could have waited all summer long to see what happens next! Go ahead and judge, but the series is crazy fun. Oh, and it has Melinda Clarke essentially being Julie Cooper, which is awesome.

By the way, this inspired me to do some research on a theory I posited last summer about Stephanie Meyer ripping a chunk out of the first book of the Vampire Diaries for Twilight. See for yourselves.

This is from the first book of the Vampire Diaries:

“Haven’t you seen enough yet? Or do I have to show you more? Can’t you picture what I might do to you?”

He strode over to the cold fireplace and snatched out a long piece of wood, thicker than both Elena’s wrists together. With one motion, he snapped it in two like a match stick.

“Your fragile bones,” he said.

Across the room was a pillow from the bed; he caught it up and with a slash of his nails left the silk cover in ribbons.

“Your soft skin.”

Then he moved toward Elena with preternatural quickness; he was there and had hold of her shoulders before she knew what was happening. He tcared into her face a moment, then, with a savage hiss that raised the hairs at the nape of her neck, drew his lips back. It was the same snarl she’d seen on the roof, those white teeth bared, the canines grown to unbelievable length and sharpness. They were the fangs of a predator, a hunter.

“Your white neck,” he said in a distorted voice.

And this is from Twilight:

Unexpectedly, he was on his feet, bounding away, instantly out of sight, only to appear beneath the same tree as before, having circled the meadow in half a second.

“As if you could outrun me,” he laughed bitterly.

He reached up with one hand and, with a deafening crack, effortlessly ripped a two-foot-thick branch from the trunk of the spruce. He balanced it in that hand for a moment, and then threw it with blinding speed, shattering it against another huge tree, which shook and trembled at the blow.

And he was in front of me again, standing two feet away, still as a stone.

“As if you could fight me off,” he said gently.

I sat without moving, more frightened of him than I had ever been. I’d never seen him so completely freed of that carefully cultivated façade. He’d never been less human … or more beautiful. Face ashen, eyes wide, I sat like a bird locked in the eyes of a snake.

See where I’m coming from? I realize it’s not the most original scene, but the similarity still struck me, even though at least ten years had passed between my readings of those scenes.

In any event, Katherine has come back to Mystic Falls and turned the love triangle into a love square, which promises to make things even more interesting this season. I’m interested to see how my favorite underdog, Elena’s brother Jeremy, fares – he may or may not have turned into a vampire over the summer.

Read More:

Vampire Diaries: Not Just True Blood Lite [The Atlantic]

Founders Finally Finale [Television Without Pity]


1 Truly, watching both Gossip Girl and 90210 is more than enough – especially since the CW has moved them both to Monday night.

2 Gossip Girl is one such example. I never read more than the first book in the series, but I had read enough to know that Taylor Momsen and Jessica Szohr are not the Jenny Humphrey and Vanessa Abrams from the books. (While Jessica Szohr spends most of her screen time with unbelievably tragic hair, it is definitely not the buzz cut that her character sports in the books.)

Leave a Reply

