taking a (fake) tumble

I admit, I was a little disgruntled with New York this morning. The train was crowded, people were ever-so-slowly plodding up the stairs off the platform, someone stopped directly in front of me at the top of the stairs, and then pedestrians were weaving about aimlessly on the sidewalk. I disliked everyone in the city this morning.

Thankfully, my faith in the city and its inhabitants has been restored. I was eating a salad in Union Square today, and some people were working on a student film nearby. The scene they were trying to film involved a pretty young woman being knocked over by a man rushing through the park and then sitting on the ground and crying. Much to the consternation of the filmmakers, every time the girl hit the pavement, passers-by would stop and try to help her up. This was problematic for their film, but it delighted me beyond words. I decided I was no longer irritated with everyone else in the city.

2 responses to “taking a (fake) tumble

  1. Nice story. It restores one’s faith in the innate goodness of humanity. Thanks for sharing.

  2. I’d love to see the failed takes from the student film.

    And three cheers for finding another BtVS fan! And I was so convinced no one would understand my post titles LOL

Leave a Reply

