Do This: American Idiot

I work out at Crunch, which, in celebration of its 21st “birthday,” was giving away prizes this summer. The prizes ran from small things like t-shirts to gym-related goodies like a year of free membership to some things that were truly awesome. The most desirable prize, as I saw it, was tickets to see American Idiot on Broadway … and I won! Can you believe it? I was so excited!

I won a pair of tickets to a schoolnight show in September, so I grabbed one of my friends and went to see the show last night! I was incredibly pleased with our seats – since they were free, I assumed we would be in a less than desirable location, but we were towards the front of the balcony, right in the middle. The seats were amazing. Our only problem was that the woman in front of us kept filming parts of the show on her phone and the woman next to us had taken it upon herself to be The Enforcer, but that’s neither here nor there.

The show itself is awesome! The show is, of course, based on the rock opera of the same name released by Green Day in 2004. The show includes a couple of extra songs for good measure, like Know Your Enemy and 21 Guns, but otherwise follows the progression of songs on the album and only adds a bit of dialogue. I loved the album and listened to it pretty much constantly when it came out, so I really enjoyed seeing the characters in the flesh.

The show has a lot of energy and is a lot of fun, and I would definitely recommend it!

Read More:
☆ Visit the official American Idiot on Broadway site
☆ Read the NY Times review
☆ If you’re so inclined, next week is a good time to see the show, as Billie Joe Armstrong is briefly playing St. Jimmy
☆ Watch Green Day and the cast of the show sing 21 Guns

2 responses to “Do This: American Idiot

  1. I guess I know what Broadway show I’m seeing next! I heard “Fela” was good too though. Do you know anything about that?

Leave a Reply

