cat-footed fog

It’s been unbearably dreary and drab here in New York for the past two days, but the fog is finally lifting! I just looked out my window and saw the grey moving away from the city at quite a clip, leaving a sunny blue sky behind.

It reminds me of the following Carl Sandburg1 poem:

The fog comes
on little cat feet.

It sits looking
over harbor and city
on silent haunches
and then moves on.


1 Fun fact: Carl Sandburg was born in my hometown.

One response to “cat-footed fog

  1. This is one of my favorite poems. When I was still a TV producer, every time we had a foggy day, I would try to get my weather anchor to read this poem. He acted like I was nuts.

Leave a Reply

