I ♥ Brussels sprouts

Brussels sprouts might be my favorite vegetable.

That might be a controversial opinion, but Brussels sprouts have unfairly gotten a bad rap. For some reason, people tend to boil the life right out of them. Brussels sprouts are like tiny little cabbages, and I don’t think I have to point out that boiled cabbage isn’t the most exciting dish.

I had Brussels sprouts for the first time a few years ago. I don’t recall my exact impetus for buying them; I can only assume it had something to do with my brain being oversaturated with case law, leading me to just grab the closet green items in the store and head home to reinsert my nose in the books. I turned them into the Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Toasted Garlic from Vegan with a Vengeance, and I promptly fell in love.

Although we eat Brussels sprouts here year-round (thanks to the miracle of grocery stores), Brussels sprouts are winter vegetables. Their peak season is from September to mid-February, but we just started seeing them arrive at the farmers markets last week.

We immediately snapped some up.

Cutting Brussels sprouts off the stalk is a funny thing. The ones on the top are large and almost completely unfurled, and the ones on the bottom of the stalk are small and tight. It doesn’t make for a very uniform side dish, but it certainly tastes good! Go out and buy some Brussels sprouts!

Read More:
Brussels sprout [Wikipedia]
In Season: Brussels Sprouts Recipes [Apartment Therapy]
Roasted Brussels Sprouts [Martha Stewart]

2 responses to “I ♥ Brussels sprouts

  1. Pingback: Blog Stew #8 « Beats and Carrots

  2. I love them too, especially roasted with a few root vegetables!
    Thanks,
    Denise

Leave a Reply

