Book Review: The Virgin Suicides

The Virgin SuicidesThe Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I wasn’t expecting to like this book because 1) I hadn’t cared for the movie, and 2) I really don’t like Middlesex, which is also by Jeffrey Eugenides. The book was only $2 at the flea market, though, and I needed something to read, so I scooped it up and gave it a try.

I am so glad that I did. Once I started this book, I couldn’t put it down. I literally walked down the street reading it. The story is captivating, even though you know from the first sentence how it all ends. It’s fascinating to watch it unfold through the recollections of an unnamed narrator.

I would give this more than five stars if possible.

View all my reviews

2 responses to “Book Review: The Virgin Suicides

  1. I also did not like Middlesex. Like, at all.

    Did you see the movie adaptation of this book? It’s pretty decent, despite starring Kirsten Dunst.

    There’s an AGD blog network?

    • I’m glad to know that someone else didn’t like Middlesex! All of my friends thought I was crazy.

      I have seen the movie, and I recalled not liking it, but everyone that I’ve mentioned this to lately says I should give the movie another chance. I’m going to add it to my Netflix queue.

      And, ha, yeah, there’s an AGD blog network. It started following me on twitter!

Leave a Reply

