Do This: Empire State Building

As promised, here’s the post on the Empire State Building! I can’t believe it’s taken me so long to get it up here!

When my brother was visiting me in October, we visited the observation deck of the Empire State Building. The Empire State Building is one of those must-see destinations that locals never really get around to seeing, most probably put off by the throngs of tourists. (The Sears Tower is another example. I lived in Chicago for almost five years and never once made it up to the observation level.)

I wasn’t just dissuaded from visiting by the likely crush of tourists; I didn’t really get why a person would want to pay $18 to look over the city. It just seemed a little … well, boring to me.

My brother was interested in visiting the Empire State Building, though, and so I went. We bought our tickets online to avoid waiting in line at the building, and the tickets enable you to visit at any time during the day. We visited on a random Wednesday in October, so there wasn’t much of a line, but I can imagine that it would be a huge timesaver to buy tickets in advance on busy days.

The observation deck is on the 86th floor and is over 1,200 feet above the ground. The view completely blew me away. I was dumbstruck at how far you can see in every direction, and it’s fun to pick out the NYC landmarks from way up there. (I could see my apartment building in Brooklyn!) I could have stayed up there all day. You can pay extra to visit the 102nd floor, but that didn’t seem like it would be worth the extra money to us. It’s not like there are any other buildings that you clear in those sixteen stories.

I am a bit acrophobic, and so I was slightly apprehensive about what it would be like to be so high up in the air. Once on the observation deck, I felt completely at ease. There are metals bars preventing you from leaning too far over the edge, and there is a thick wall at chest-height circling the entire deck.

I am so glad that I finally made the trip. (Thanks, Dave, for being the impetus for the adventure!) I would encourage anyone to go … and to bring me along!

Read More:

☆ Visit the Official Empire State Building site to purchase your tickets

☆ Read basic information about the Empire State Building on Wikipedia

☆ Find out what color the Empire State Building is (and why) tonight (and, along those lines, if you were staring at the Empire State Building in befuddlement over the weekend, here’s some speculation about those rainbow lights)

Leave a Reply

