travel fail

As I mentioned in my last post, I flew from New York to Cincinnati to spend the Thanksgiving holiday with my family.  On Wednesday, I finished packing, I posted my blog on traveling, I set up the automatic watering for the plants, and then I headed down and got on the Q to head out to LaGuardia.

Do you know what’s wrong with that sequence?

I wasn’t flying out of LaGuardia.  I was flying out of JFK.

I was sitting on the train, reading a book, when I was struck by the feeling that something was wrong.  I wondered if perhaps Delta flew out of the Marine Air Terminal,1 in which case I should switch to the F so that I could catch the Q47 instead of taking the Q to the M60.  I pulled out the boarding pass I had printed, hoping it might indicate which terminal I needed.  The pass didn’t mention terminals, but it very clearly say “Origin: New York-Kennedy.”

Thankfully, I was at 34th when I realized my mistake, so I got off the train at 42nd and switched to the E.  (That makes it sound easier than it was: I walked an avenue over underground, climbing various staircases and a random underground hill, dodging lost and slow-moving tourists the whole way.)  I lucked out, and the E was arriving just as I reached the platform.

My detour probably only took me fifteen minutes out of my way, which wasn’t catastrophic because I had budgeted plenty of extra time for getting through security.  The security line at my terminal at JFK was underwhelming; there were no body scanners or intrusive pat-downs, and everything seemed to be moving relatively smoothly.  My biggest problem in the line was the close-stander behind me.  In any event, I got the TSA badge on Foursquare:

I managed to arrive in Cincinnati without any other problems, and I had a great time visiting with my family!  I’ll post more about it tomorrow.  I hope that everyone else had a great holiday!


1 It doesn’t.  The Delta Shuttle flies out of the Marine Air Terminal.

Leave a Reply

