Book Review: Anthropology of an American Girl

Anthropology of an American GirlAnthropology of an American Girl by Hilary Thayer Hamann
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I cried when I finished this book, mostly because the ending is emotional, but also partially because I was sad the book was over. Although I didn’t always love the narrator (sometimes I wanted to reach through the pages and shake her), the writing is some of the most beautiful I have ever read. I kept re-reading parts and jotting down pages numbers of favorite lines, and sometimes I would have to set the book down mid-paragraph and ruminate over a certain sentence before I could move on.

Eveline can be a difficult narrator – sometimes it feels as though the story is happening to her, instead of it being her story – but she’s an authentic character, and you hurt for her when she hurts. I was fascinated with the way the story was told; it wasn’t linear, and it would skip back in time almost without warning. It was sometimes confusing, but it also lent a dream-like quality to the book that I found addicting.

The one problem that I had (and the reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5) was that I didn’t completely understand (or buy) the backstory linking Rourke, Rob, and Mark. Because the book wasn’t plot-centric, however, it didn’t wreck my enjoyment of it, and I would recommend it.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

