the weekend

I know things have been a little quiet over here – but, hey, it’s the holidays! A girl deserves a break.

On Friday, I had lunch with a friend who is moving to Singapore this week. Can you imagine?  I’m a little jealous of the warm weather he’s going to have!

In contrast, after lunch, I prepared to fly to an even colder climate: Illinois. The pilot announced the ground temperature was 12 degrees when my flight landed that night.  Brr!  Thankfully, Ashley and Tyler picked me up from the train stop.  (Thanks again, friends!)

Dakin, Christmas-style

After a fortifying diner breakfast, Ashley and I spent all day Christmas shopping.  Let me let you in on a secret: shopping on the Saturday before Christmas is a terrible idea.  Only do it if you have a death wish.  Target in particular was, as Ashley put it, like the Seventh Circle of Hell.  There were people and carts everywhere.  The parking lot was the worst: people were circling for spots like vultures, and, just as we arrived, we saw a car cut in line to snag a spot, prompting a woman to leap from her car and begin screaming, I will slash your tires!”  It was a pretty intense place.

I was totally wiped out by the time we finished our shopping – and I hadn’t even made it outside the car at Home Depot.  We stayed in on Saturday night, ordering Thai food, watching Christmas Vacation, wrapping presents, and making fudge and gingerbread.  It was quite the festive evening.  (Well, the Thai food might not have been particularly festive.)

On Sunday, I headed out to the suburbs for my friend Melissa’s baby shower.  Melissa is a sorority sister and a college roommate, and I still find it bizarre that she is old enough to have children.  (She’s the third of my close friends from college to have children; I wonder when I’ll get used to it.)  I am, of course, very happy for her and her husband.  Melissa is a lovely person, and she and her husband will make fantastic parents.

the hilarious (and delicious!) cake

I don’t get many chances to see a bunch of my college girlfriends – especially in one place – so Melissa’s shower provided an excellent opportunity to catch up.  (I love you, friends!  Miss you all already!)

“I’ve always wanted a friend!” (that’s for you, Liz)

After the shower, Liz gave me a ride to the train station.  The Amtrak boarding area, which is always a mess, was made even more frustrating by the addition of a cop on a segue who kept hollering at us about keeping the thoroughfare empty.  That’s easier said than done; it’s a tight space down there, and there’s barely enough room for everyone (and their luggage) to stand.  Thankfully, there wasn’t too much pushing (although there was some major complaining when a troupe of sixteen year old girls got to pre-board with the senior citizens), and I was able to board the train unscathed.  I was even able to get a window seat with no one sitting next to me!  My brother lent me his It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia DVDs, so I had some entertainment on the journey home.

Now, I’m sitting on the couch with the dog curled up on my lap.  I can’t get up because I don’t want to disturb her, but it’s not a bad place to be trapped.

Leave a Reply

