Christmas in Illinois

I had a wonderful holiday with my family in Illinois!

We were already on our way to a White Christmas, but the snow started falling in huge clumps on Christmas Eve morning and didn’t stop. I had gone out for breakfast with two of my best friends from home, and, in the couple of hours we were in the coffee shop, my car was covered in thick snow. The snow was beautiful, but, unfortunately, it prevented my uncle, aunt, and cousins from joining us on Christmas Eve.

Christmas house White Christmas

Although we were disappointed, we enjoyed our Christmas Eve. My mom had made a really nice dinner of chicken, garlic mashed potatoes, green beans with dried cherries, her famous buttermilk rolls … and a homemade apple pie for dessert! We took a walk through the freshly fallen, glittery snow, and then we played board games all night, starting with Wits & Wagers and moving on to Fireball Island (which was much more complicated than any of us remembered!) before finally playing (my personal favorite) Clue: The Great Museum Caper.

Christmas Eve: Fireball Island
Fireball Island

Christmas Day was nice as well. My family did a great job picking out presents for me, and I think they liked the presents that I gave them (at least, I hope they did!). We had another nice dinner (steak this time), and spent some time as a family.

Christmas dog the Christmas dog

I headed up to Chicago on Monday afternoon in order to catch my Tuesday morning flight, and Ashley and Tyler graciously hosted me again.  I’m glad that I was able to make it home in the blizzard, but I miss my family already!

Leave a Reply

