Friday Links

I woke up this morning and discovered that we’re in a snow globe!  Here are some links for your snow day:

For Your Protection image credit: HeyRocker on Flickr

☆ NPR did a story on some “urban adventurers” who explore the subways, and Vulture has video of it.  It’s absolutely nuts.

☆ I have to admit, I was not much of a fan of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.  I know lots of people liked it (and the subsequent books), but it was not for me.  This piece in the New York validates my viewpoint:

[T]here are blatant violations of logic and consistency.  Loose ends dangle.  There are vast dumps of unnecessary detail. . . . The jokes aren’t funny.  The dialogue could not be worse.  The phrasing and vocabulary are consistently banal.

☆ At least twice a day I accidentally hit the Caps Lock button and send someone an instant message that is the equivalent of shouting.  Sure, I could be more careful in my typing, but … what if the Caps Lock button just didn’t exist?

☆ Mark Bittman teaches people how to prepare three basic meals.

☆ In January, the gym is always jam-packed with people who haven’t yet given up on their resolutions.  Here are some tips for those people.

☆ And finally, because it’s so bizarre that I can’t keep it to myself, here’s a middle-aged woman with a full back tattoo depicting an abstinence novel about sparkly vampires.

☆ Actually, I can’t leave you with that image … so, as a palate cleanser, here’s a less offensive Twilight bit: Go Fug Yourself ran a cute slideshow of Kristen Stewart at the People’s Choice Awards.

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

