dumplings!

We discovered a new (to us) dumpling place this weekend!  Vanessa’s Dumpling House on the Lower East Side has dirtcheap and delicious food.  We spent $10 total last night and had dinner for both us and lunch today!

We sampled vegetarian dumpling soup, vegetarian steamed buns, pork and chive fried dumplings, and a roast pork sesame pancake sandwich.

dumpling soup, image credit: Gina N. on Yelp

My Yelp review, which is linked to above:

I was shocked by how much food we got for so little money.  I ordered veggie soup dumplings and a steamed veggie bun, and I had to bring most of the soup home.  It was so good, though!  We left already planning our return trip.

It’s a little snug in there, and we didn’t have anywhere to sit, but one of the ladies cleared a spot on the counter for us, which was nice.  We decided to stay there even when a table opened up because we were enjoying watching the dumplings be made.

My only real problem with the meal was that I accidentally ate some paper on my steamed bun (ew!), but I kind of figure that’s my fault.

But don’t just take my word for it … Read More:
The Best $1 Foods [New York Magazine]
☆ Dumplings and Sesame Pancake Sandwiches [Serious Eats]

Leave a Reply

