the end of January

January is probably my least favorite month. I find it really hard to motivate myself to do anything (even blog!), when it’s so cold and bleak outside.

Winter Feed I don’t think I’d mind winter so much if there were sheep.
image credit: jamarmstrong on Flickr

Thankfully, we have waved goodbye to January for now! (Only forty-eight more days until spring …) Despite the unending gloom, I managed to do some fun things that last weekend of January:

☆ On Thursday, we went to the Cobble Hill Cinema to take advantage of their $7-movie night. We saw True Grit, about which, I have to admit, I was completely uninformed: I wasn’t sure what the movie was about, and I didn’t know that it was a remake of a John Wayne classic. Neither of those things affected my enjoyment, however, and I really liked the movie!

☆ On Friday, I was on my own, so I decided to take advantage of it. I ordered in Thai food, drank wine, and watched The Vampire Diaries. If you don’t think that sounds like fun, you obviously haven’t been watching the show! Here’s some reading for you: Ten Reasons You Should Be Watching The Vampire Diaries [The AV Club].

☆ On Saturday, I met some other Alpha Gams for a wine and cheese night. It’s always fun to meet new people – and especially fun to discover that you have the same couch, same random box of matches from a bar in Chicago, and same appreciation for Ethan Embry in Empire Records.

☆ On Sunday, we had dim sum at 9 Chatham Square. We arrived at 1:30 and found the place almost completely empty. We figured that we had missed the dim sum rush. Fifteen minutes later, the place was packed. It’s much more fun when it’s bustling!

☆ On Monday, we finally cashed in our Groupon for Madiba. I bought the Groupon way back in July, and I gave the place a five-star review on Yelp last April. The food was just as good as I remembered (he had the ribs, I had the prawns, and we split the malva pudding dessert), but I think the atmosphere is what makes Madiba really fun. They had a live DJ last night, and the place was lively without being too much of a scene. It was a nice place to have a late dinner on a snowy Monday night.

Anyway, Happy February!

Leave a Reply

