pancake success!

Do you remember those runny blue pancakes I made earlier this year? After that unappetizing mess, I’ve made it my business to learn how to cook a pancake. I think I may have gotten the hang of it! Behold, this morning’s pancakes:

They weren’t perfect, but I was pretty proud of them! In addition to them being much more attractive (and tasty!) than the blue pancakes, they were much, much healthier. (The recipe is after the jump.)

I’m so proud of myself!

Triple Apple Pancakes (inspired by this recipe from The Kitchn)

Ingredients:
1 cup whole wheat flour
2 tablespoons Splenda
1 and 1/2 tablespoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoons salt
equivalent of 1 egg’s worth of egg whites
1 cup vanilla almond milk
2 tablespoons applesauce
cinnamon
1 apple

Method:
1. Chop about 1/3 of the apple into tiny dice, and slice the rest thinly. Set aside.
2. Mix together flour, Splenda, baking powder, and salt.
3. Add the egg whites, applesauce, and almond milk.
4. Mix until just combined and then fold in the diced apples.
5. Heat a pan over medium heat, spray with cooking spray, and then, when hot, add the batter by scant 1/4 cups. Cook as normal, and keep the cooked ones in a warm oven.
6. Meanwhile, melt some butter in a pan over medium heat. Add the remaining apples, sprinkle with cinnamon, and saute until soft and sweet.
7. Serve cooked apples over the apple pancakes!

This makes enough pancakes for two people with some leftover.

2 responses to “pancake success!

  1. This recipe sounds fantastic – definitely plan to give it a try! I’m a huge fan of almond milk (always have Almond Dream on hand) and was glad to see something with whole wheat flour seemed to work out. I usually really struggle when cooking with it and have to make numerous alterations.

    My mom’s fool proof theory to pancakes … Thin enough to pour, thick enough to stick and bubbled before you flip.

    I pretty much just keep adding ingredients until I get that all right … I was glad to see in your last post you attempted the same. :)

    Congrats on your strides toward pancake perfection!

    • I’m a recent convert to almond milk … I had tried some Trader Joe’s brand almond milk a while back, and it was way too sweet. I think we’ve been using Almond Breeze, and it’s much better. :)

Leave a Reply

