the weekend: visit from a friend, art, rain, and a model

I had a fantastic weekend. Cate, my best friend since forever, was flying in from California to attend a wedding in New Jersey on Saturday night, and she made her way over to New York to see me on both Friday and Sunday. It was so amazing to see her; we don’t get to see each other nearly enough.

Cate arrived in New Jersey on a red eye flight, so, by the time she made it to Brooklyn she needed a nap before we could go out. After her restorative nap, we grabbed some lunch (and mid-afternoon wine) at Nanoosh and then made our way up to The Frick Collection. The Frick Collection is a private art collection housed in an early twentieth century mansion on the Upper East Side. The home itself is amazing: it’s on 70th just east of the park, and it’s huge, especially when compared to the size of most New York apartments. It’s stuffed to the gills with high-quality artwork by the likes of Bellini, Titian, and Rembrandt. Much of the art is displayed just as it was when it was a private home. (Accordingly, there isn’t much signage. Audioguides are included in the price of admission, and these are helpful, but I personally am much too impatient to stand there and listen. I would prefer something that I could read.)

Iron work at the Frick Collection by Rev Stan on Flickr

The Frick Collection - image courtesy Rev Stan on Flickr

It was 6:00 pm by the time we left the Frick, and we headed down to the West Village to meet up with Marc. We strolled around for a bit before ending up in our old stomping ground in the Village proper, and we stopped in at V Bar for a couple of glasses of wine. A bit later, Cate and I met my friend Kelley for dinner. I’ve gotten too used to living in Brooklyn; I had forgotten how hard it is to just walk in somewhere in the Village to eat. We finally ended up at this little (emphasis on littleThai place on Carmine (the name of which I think is different now than it is on the Yelp page I linked to), which is always good and so insanely cheap. We shared an appetizer, a noodle dish, and a entree, and it came in at $27. It was 11:00 pm by that time, and we headed home.

After Saturday morning bagels, Cate left us for New Jersey. Marc and I spent the rest of the day monitoring the increasingly bad weather from the safety of our apartment, until evening, when we braved the storm to attend a friend’s house warming party. I’m always amazed when people move in somewhere and it immediately looks like home; we’ve lived here for over a year and we still don’t have art on the walls!

Cate’s flight didn’t leave until Sunday evening, so she came back into the city. It was a much, much nicer day that the previous day, and we spent our time just strolling around. I tried to take her to the High Line, but I was consistently thwarted by closed staircases. I (sadly) put her back on the PATH train mid-afternoon, and then I met Marc in Chinatown for our favorite weekend banh mi. As we ate them in a tiny square, we saw someone go all fangirl on a model, who was quite gracious about the situation, even though she was rather desperately trying to flag down a cab and was clearly in a hurry. New York is a funny place.

We concluded our weekend with a long stroll along the Hudson River Park, a shattered bottle of rice vinegar on the kitchen floor (sigh), and more season 5 of The Wire. It was such a nice weekend. The only thing I would have changed would be getting to spend Saturday afternoon in Champaign, Illinois, with my college girlfriends, who had a mini-reunion, but that would have required me to bend space and time.

Did everyone else have a nice weekend?

4 responses to “the weekend: visit from a friend, art, rain, and a model

  1. I’ve definitely had that “need to bend space and time” feeling when all my college girls reunited and I was thousands of miles away…boo, ha! Sounds like a lovely weekend!

    • Oh, I know – it can be so hard when friends get together and you’re left out! I was lucky that I had fun plans this weekend so that I didn’t feel too bummed out.

  2. Love this post :)
    Thanks for a wonderful weekend! I miss you and can’t wait to see you again soon!
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

