Book Review: Choke

ChokeChoke by Chuck Palahniuk

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

The back of this book has a quote from the Houston Chronicle: “Palahniuk has a vision that’s as distinctive as it is disturbing. Like it or loathe it, Choke cannot be dismissed. Nor can it’s creator.”

I think that’s all pretty accurate. I had a horrified (and completely grossed-out) look on my face for most of this book, but I couldn’t stop reading it. The narrator is absolutely not a good guy, and the sex scenes are plentiful and much more explicit than I expected, but I found the way that Palahniuk told the story hypnotizing. You could really sense the narrator’s disillusionment and confusion with his own life.

I wouldn’t recommend this to anyone with a sensitive disposition (or anyone who wants to read on the train – this is not the kind of stuff you want people reading over your shoulder), but it was strange and interesting and unlike anything I’ve read.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

