weekend recap: mimosas and relaxation

mimosas by Joe Shlabotnik on Flickr

everyone loves mimosas

Brunch is probably my favorite meal of the week. I love eggs and breakfast potatoes (and the accompanying excuse to eat ketchup), and I think everyone loves a mimosa.

On Saturday, a group of us met at the Ainsworth to use some brunch coupons that we purchased on Gilt. The deal was a set price for brunch for two: two brunch entrees, one brunch side, and unlimited mimosas or bloody marys. I got an egg white omelet with goat cheese, spinach, and roasted tomatoes, and it was pretty good. (Of course, it’s kind of hard to mess that up!) The rest of our group had a few problems here and there (some puzzlement over the degree to which the restaurant cooked the eggs in Eggs Benedict, one dish that simply didn’t come out), but the mimosas kept coming and the staff was pretty nice to us. In any event, it had been way too long since that group of us had gotten together, and it was a lot of fun!

Our Sunday was pretty low-key: there was some cleaning, a stroll through Brooklyn Bridge Park (which happily included ice cream cones!), a haircut (not for me!), and dinner at the Thai place down the street. It was exactly the kind of relaxing evening that I needed after a fun day on Saturday – especially considering I think I’m sick (frown!).

I hope everyone else had great weekends!

Oh, also, I thought I’d share this: While searching Flickr for pictures of mimosas to include in this post, I came across this set of Mimosa the Prairie Dog. It’s the first ever indoor prairie dog that I have seen!

 

One response to “weekend recap: mimosas and relaxation

  1. that prairie dog just made my afternoon. ha!

Leave a Reply

