starting the year off with some bad chili

One of my 2012 resolutions is to cook more often.  More real food, less Thai delivery.

The first hurdle, of course, is purposeful grocery shopping.  I may love almond butter, Greek yogurt, and brussels sprouts, but it’s hard to assemble a meal from just those ingredients.  I need a plan when I enter the grocery store, which means that I have to sit down and come up with said plan at some point.  And summon the energy to brave the Pathmark.

It would be embarrassing to fail my first resolution on January 2 (the day that all real resolutions begin), and so I decided to make chili, made a list, rallied the troops, and headed off to Pathmark.  First hurdle cleared!

The next hurdle is following through with your plan.  That one was a piece of cake.  I was excited to both start my “cook more” resolution and eat chili.  Second hurdle cleared!

The final, and most important, hurdle is actually producing food that anyone wants to eat.  Fail.  I made some bad chili.  I grew suspicious of it when I noticed that the recipe only called for 1.5 teaspoons of chili powder, but I just dumped more in and called it a day.  It didn’t work.  We added more chili powder and more chili powder, but it still just tasted like limp tomato soup with chili powder, with random beans and turkey bits floating throughout.

At least there was cornbread.

Does anyone have a good chili recipe they want to share?  I refuse to admit defeat this early in the year.

4 responses to “starting the year off with some bad chili

  1. Turkey chili IS harder to get right than beef chili – the meat is just so much blander (and healthier – ha). I am in no way a chili expert, but it’s one of the few things I can “make” without totally ruining it. I use the McCormick seasoning packets (http://www.mccormick.com/Products/Seasoning-Mixes/Chili.aspx) and I add in my own chili powered too. I also think cooking the whole concoction longer (after the meat is cooked, obv), on a lower temp helps (this could be totally false, but I like to think it works). Charlie sometimes cuts up jalapenos in to little, little pieces and throws them in the mix – so tasty!

  2. I’m so glad to know I’m not alone in this venture. I just had a misadventure in chicken and noodles … also a “cook more” Jan. 2 tragedy. Hang in there – one of these days we’re bound to be giving Emeril a run for his money – or at least be able to eat our dinner.

    In the meantime, I’ve got a great chili recipe (although not exactly “fresh”) that you’re welcome to transform with ground turkey, beans and fresh goodies as you wish. You may also want to be warned that it’s a really large batch (full crockpot) that allows me to freeze half and still makes enough for a small army … otherwise known as my farmer husband and brother.

    1 29-oz. can tomato sauce
    1 29-oz. can water
    1 4-oz. can green chiles
    2 28-oz. can diced tomatoes
    2 teaspoons cumin
    3 Tablespoons chili powder
    1 1/2 teaspoons black pepper
    2 teaspoons salt
    2 pounds ground beef
    1 chopped medium onion
    1 Tablespoon minced garlic

    Combine tomato sauce, water, chiles, diced tomatoes, cumin, chili powder, pepper and salt in crock pot. Whisk to mix well and turn on low.
    Brown ground beef with garlic and onion – stir into crock pot.
    Leave crock pot on low to slow cook to desired temperature.

  3. Thanks, friends! When I’m feeling brave, I will take a second attempt at chili and report back!

Leave a Reply

