first downward dog of 2012

First up, sorry about the theme-induced whiplash.  One of the awesome things about WordPress is that they are constantly introducing new, free blog themes.  I’m easily seduced by shiny new layouts – hence, the frequent changing of the blog theme.  This one looks pretty good, though, right?

Moving right along.  I’ve had a pleasantly productive Sunday.  I took my first yoga class in … wow, I don’t even know long.  I don’t think I’ve taken a yoga class since I started working out at Equinox, and I joined Equinox in June.  Eesh.  That’s even longer than I thought.  It had become this vicious cycle: I was afraid to go to yoga because of how off my yoga game I was, and that just meant that, as more time went on, I got even farther and father from where I wanted to be.  So I wouldn’t go.

Also, Equinox is more intimidating than Crunch.  So there’s that.

I always loved Crunch, but it – at least the locations I visited – was always kind of like working out in a basement.  The woman I took yoga from at the Union Square Crunch was hilarious; it certainly was not a serious yoga class.  (That is not to say that she didn’t lead us through challenging poses and sets – she did – but, come on, how serious can the class be when it’s called Virgin Yoga?)

Equinox on the other hand, is aesthetically pleasing and pretty luxe.  (The Kiehl’s products in the shower are better than the products I have in my own shower – which makes getting ready for work there that much more appealing!)  People look a lot more serious about their exercising in there.  And then there’s the way the yoga studio looks.

yoga studio at Equinox Soho - image from the Equinox website

See my point?  That’s not the kind of place for a girl with a sloppy chaturanga (and “sloppy” is being generous) who has been known to fall out Warrior 1.

But, as my coffee mug (filled with pencils) reminds me, Do one thing every day that scares you.  So today that thing was to slink back to yoga.

And it was fantastic.  I’m really, dismally out of fighting yoga shape.  (Do yogis fight?  Seems unlikely.)  But I got through it, and I feel a million times better for it.  Unfortunately, the girl who taught the class today – who was awesome and approachable, the way I like my yoga instructors – was just a sub.  Now I’ve got my eye on some weekday yoga classes …

That really only gets us up to 10:30 a.m. of my productive day, but I’m hungry, so the rest will have to wait!

6 responses to “first downward dog of 2012

  1. Woo! Good for you! :) 1) I am super jealous. I used to go to Equinox when I lived in NYC and I miss it terribly. (Especially the “NYC Dance Project” class on Monday nights at 92nd street… Amazing.) 2) Even yoga teachers (cough, cough, me) have been known to fall out of Warrior 1. 3) Chaturanga is HARD. No one will judge you about it.

  2. Hi!
    I’m new to blogging, so I’ve been looking around, and I really like yours! I fall during yoga all the time, you’re not alone!

  3. So glad you “slunk back” to yoga! :-)

  4. The new layout gets my vote – two thumbs up! Also, I’ve never really had a serious yoga class. I took one once at the local Y, and needless to say, it sounds much more like your Crunch experience … but in central Illinois.

    Happy posing!

  5. Pingback: indulgence on a gift card « perky to a fault

  6. i hate yoga and i am so, so, SO bad at it. but i do it anyway because its “supposed” to be good for me. I’m still not sold. And yes, the studios at equinox are pretty legit!

Leave a Reply

