I complain a lot in this post

See the post title?  Consider yourself warned.

You guys, I am so tired.  Things have been pretty busy insane at work lately, and Monday was no exception.  I didn’t make it home from work until 4:30 a.m. Tuesday morning, and I needed to be at Penn Station in time for an 8:00 a.m. train to a hearing.  My alarm went off at 6:00 a.m. so that I could shower, gather my things, and get myself to the train, so that meant I got a little less than 90 minutes of fitful sleep.

My original plan had been to get up early to vote before I left for the hearing, but I realized that wasn’t in the cards around 2:15 a.m. when I found myself locked out of my office by the cleaning staff with mountains of work left to do.  Instead, I left work shortly after 5:00 p.m. so that I could get to my polling place before things got too crazy.

This is me last night. Look how tired I am; my glasses aren’t even on straight.

I might have made it had the MTA not been conspiring against me.  Subway service is still recovering post-Sandy, and, to make matters worse, there had been an “earlier incident” on my line.1 I decided to take the a different train instead, which shouldn’t have been a problem, but, once this train had crossed the bridge to Brooklyn, it kept stopping and ended up taking 45 minutes to go a distance that usually  takes no more than 3 or 4.

And then I stood in line at my polling place (currently doubling as an evacuation center) for 2 hours.

Upon finally arriving home, I wanted to go immediately to bed and sleep for 3 days, but I also wanted to stay up and watch the returns, and, because I am horrible at taking care of myself, that’s exactly what I did.

And today was another chaotic (but thankfully nowhere near as long) day.  And so I am tired.  Oh, and have I mentioned we are having some sort of freaky Nor’easter?

Untitled

Yeah. That looks like lovely snow, but it’s actually snow accompanied by sideways-blowing wintry mix.  The kind that hurts when it hits you in the face.


1 What does that mean? It’s so ambiguous!

2 responses to “I complain a lot in this post

  1. I had a similar stress-driven sleepless experience recently, and as it turns out I am not nearly as capable of recovering from all-nighters as I used to be (damn you 30!).

    Sending you happy White Christmas thoughts as you take on the wintry mix – and despite any complaints love that you’re blogging again!

  2. Poor thing! You are such a good citizen :)

Leave a Reply

